Reversals

The ideas and concepts presented in Tree of Codes give authors something new to strive for. We find new and exciting ways to approach the use of literary devices in order to convey a message, or make a statement. I found the style revolutionary; with the cut-up method, we could take a text we hate and completely revamp it, and make it a new story with our own ideas, and what we want to happen. The sky is the limit with cut-up, as seen in Tree of Codes. We can apply this to any of our favorite books and turn the tables on the original author, creating our own original piece from the code that lies within the text. We can turn hurtful texts into wonderful adventures, sad into happy, and morbid into cheerful. It’s a tool that creative minds can utilize to pull words together into a new entity. All in all, I’m excited to try it in the future. Whole new worlds can be created and explored. The suffering of one can be molded into a triumphant success. The average author relies way to much on conventional writing methods, so with this strategy we forge our own identities.

We can turn happy texts into  hurtful adventures. Wonderful ideas and concepts, with the cut-up method, turn the tables on the original author, creating morbid revolutionary statement. Use original code  within the text revamp creative minds, take a wonderful text and utilize sad devices in order to make a statement. Pull whole new worlds into lies. Explore Tree of Codes and strive for future suffering. Success of texts relies on our own identities to convey a message.

I used my original happy, upbeat paragraph to create a much more depressing tale. I moved sentences around in my head and pulled different words together to completely change the mood and tone. I cut words out, but it isn’t overly apparent from my writing. There aren’t obvious holes like in Tree of Codes. I used the method of writing to create two very different reviews of the strategy, and of the book itself. It’s amazing how two completely different ideas can be pulled out of the same words while maintaining (for the most part) a good sense of cohesion. I read my first paragraph and thought “this is too happy, let’s make it darker” and so I did, using only the words I had typed minutes beforehand. It’s truly intriguing.

Lewis Darnell

Darnell Lewis

~ by tiddles747 on April 6, 2013.

 
