“This is not a game. Nobody is keeping score.”

Simple, awesome 1990s-esque first person shooter design. Strange that it triggers nostalgic memories from when my dad used to play Doom and Wolfenstein 3D on his PC when my sister and I were kids. Muffled, profuse giggles in the silent computer lab. Halfway through Season 1 and already loving Caboose and Donut’s awkward antics (and names). Once again baffled by another form of digital storytelling. This Machinima takes the relatively simple scenario of two opposing teams and makes a story of horrendously and hilariously imbecilic soldiers without a clue in the world as to what they’re supposed to be doing. It’s the ultimate videogame dubbing.

Inside the Haiti Earthquake and Depression Quest gave me options to take me down different paths. Depression Quest had the potential to lead to worse, similar, or better outcomes. Through this quest, each decision I make dictates my own future. However, if each option from Inside the Haiti Earthquake was a Pitt shuttle for the University, the end all location is the Cathedral of Learning. No matter where I decided to go, the final realization was the same: the Haiti Earthquake’s aftermath consisted of dreadful outcomes with long, grueling processes toward any sort of relatively positive outcome. The first page notes this with its eerie introduction:

Screen shot 2013-03-24 at 2.48.08 PM

Even though I have little control in the grand scheme of things, or so it seems that way to me, by participating, I prove my efforts and can make small victories. As a participator in this online journey, there is hope that I might have been impacted with the shattering and shocking realization that I have the ability to assist others who fight to survive. An earthquake of consciousness and awareness. Such a profound method of storytelling through something like a videogame, especially after watching the tomfoolery of the red team and the blue team.

~ by sarahbartie on March 24, 2013.

 
