Red Vs. Blue

Red Vs. Blue is… interesting. I remember when I first saw it a few years ago, but I wasn’t really able to commit myself to watching it. Now that I have to, I’m actually getting an appreciation for it. It does a pretty good job of… dehumanizing the characters, allowing for more engaging comedy. If this were done a la Whitest Kids (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QmQtSeDnMUw) with human actors, the comedy simply may not be as engaging, especially as seen in Ep.2’s presentation of a new Warthog. 

I guess what I’m trying to say is that doing the show in a way that involves adding human voices to a rather familar game such as Halo brings a new light to it. I’ve never been much of a fan of the Halo series myself, but when I do play, it without fail becomes an orgy of hilarity after about ten minutes, with everyone killing each other by slamming Warthogs into Death Balls, and the like. This series gives a sort of “Workaholics” feel to something that’s supposed to at least be semi-serious, like Halo.

~ by ryanwcraig on March 24, 2013.