Don’t hate the player, hate the game

Video games are a medium that is relatively recent in the world, right next to the internet. For as long as games have existed, they strive to entertain and interact. So far this semester, we have explored many aspects of creative media: interaction, sound, and video. Video games are they hybrid baby of all of those; powerhouse ideas combining all three in one exciting package. They are the ultimate tools for creative minds to reach the contemporary world, as they have become rooted in society and culture. Everybody knows about video games, so they are a popular medium for creative expression. There are flaws, however. With how far games have come, there are expectations from hardcore games to always be immersed and for the games to have a certain quality to them. This is the problem that I ran into this week: I am a game snob

I loved our homework, and it really showed me how much of a nerd I am. First off, Red vs. Blue is simply fantastic. I had watched every episode already, so this was a nice excuse to revisit it. I laughed my ass off, because I forgot how funny it is. Machinima is a great tool to use, as the interaction of video games takes on a whole other level. We begin to use the game for purposes other than what it was designed to do, which really shows the brilliance of the medium. Rooster Teeth took the Halo game and made a comedy series out of it, utilizing the gameplay and various glitches to make it more realistic. It’s fascinating how it can be used.

If you’re going to do something, do it well. If you’re going to make a game, make it good. I personally hated the game about cell phones this week. The controls were wonky on the laptop, and the instructions were awful. I had to redo the first part a bunch of times until I realized that they actually weren’t going to tell me how to do anything, and I had to work with the trackpad on my computer. The game ended without really doing anything, other than saying “hope this helped” and I flipped my computer the bird because I was so mad. That game sucked, big time. I wasn’t a fan of the Haiti one, either. You had to make decisions, and when I was the journalist a decision I made at the beginning made the whole thing suck. I wanted to be ethical and film the relief meeting, then I failed the game cause I didn’t show conflict. This same thing came up when I was the Aid person, and the journalist didn’t want to help me. There wasn’t really a right option, but at the same time there was, and it pissed me off.

The game about taking pills, on the other hand, I really enjoyed. It was simple, with straightforward controls and a goal. In the end, I was happy with my decision to play it, and I was happy that the character had won. I’m very happy that that game was one of our options, because it saved that whole website for me.

If you want to make an interaction-based medium, make it good, and make it so that people want to interact with it. I was bored with the phone game, and turned off by the Haiti game.

 

Lewis Darnell

~ by tiddles747 on March 23, 2013.

 
