The Manipulation of Emotions

The two pieces in which I will look more into are both The House on Loon Lake, and Bear 71.

When I first began listening to The House on Loon Lake, I imagined it to be nothing more than specific expectations people have about scary movies. Most scary movies now-a-days consist of children finding abandoned buildings, getting locked in those buildings, being “haunted,” and trying to find an escape route without having their lives taken from them. However, it turned out to be much different. Being that this story had a full cast as opposed to just a specified storyteller, it seemed to draw me in more. It spoke of both a paper that the character Ian found about the invasion of the Nazi’s and how during certain events it would seem as though time would just stop. When the stopping of time was mentioned, you hear this sound effect in the distant background of gears turning or clocks ticking, something like that, but whatever it is, it gives off this eerie and anxious feeling as to what will come next.

I received this same feeling from Bear 71. The music (and pictures) that are paired with the story impose and manipulate its readers emotional responses. Whether it be anxiety or sadness, no matter the feeling, the sound makes you feel what the story is telling. It uses the bear’s perspective of it’s surroundings which makes you feel as though you must sympathize with it.

Similar to Inanimate Alice, Bear 71 uses sound, pictures, and interaction. However due to the limitation of movement from my sunburn, I found this one to be more challenging. However being that I am an animal lover and obsessed with saving the environment, I struggled my way through clicking. After all was done, and the story had reached its climax, Bear 71 was no longer active. 😦 If only things could always end with “happily ever after…”

~ by rcf19 on March 17, 2013.

 
