Sounds and Sound Bites and Soundscapes and Stuff

Campfire and speakers behind me. On the edge of my seat in the dark with my eyes closed. I’m the Alfred Hitchcock of my own mind, taking the audio from House on Loon Lake and combining it with the depictions of my imagination. Sinister strains of sound at all the right moments. Less horrifying, more eerie. The sound clips push my emotions as the boys describe the mangled doll, the blocked door, the ghostly feel, their backs pressed up against one another, no laughter.

Edgar Oliver creeps up to the microphone for Apron Strings of Savannah. The smooth, Transylvanian twang to his voice screams ‘vampire.’ And I can see fangs. Bulging, piercing eyes looking in different directions. A crouched spine. His hands rubbing together. Long fingernails. Pale complexion. A rush of perceptions of him based on the sound of his voice and portrayals of vampires from childhood before I searched for an image of his face. How strange that a unique voice makes an immense difference in the way a story is heard. In one instance, an abundance of laughter after he uttered, “Chests and drawers and boxes.” So profound how certain sounds prick and prod at the grey matter of our minds, spurring giggles or gasps or an overwhelming sense of sorrow.

“The forest has its own language.” The emotional impact of sound accompanied by sight, especially in Bear 71, generates a different response than sound alone. Obvious and not necessarily greater, but significant to note while experiencing each of these pieces. Something odd about following Bear 71 and all the while sensing the little green light of the webcam on me. Radiohead’s playing (a band that’s perfect for meshing sounds together just so that my ears are going haywire with delight, but that’s just my opinion and not totally significant), and the bear’s soft, courageous female voice narrates and reminisces and describes, and I am heavily, emotionally invested in the 20 minute interactive video and Bear 71.

Sarah

~ by sarahbartie on March 17, 2013.

 
