Audioscapes on the Internet

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from exploring these different assignments, like Bear 71 and The House on Loon Lake, it’s that sound can create an atmosphere unlike any other. The addition of sound in a project adds a whole new dimension, and it brings the reader farther into the piece.

Bear 71 was a very interesting work, as it told a story combining sound, pictures, and interaction. We can choose to click on the interaction points through the story, or simply let the story tell itself. We aren’t forced to do anything. We are given opportunities to enhance the experience for ourselves, and it is a great tool. Not only do we hear the narrator speaking the story of the bear, there’s always music playing in the background. Our senses are constantly being used. The type of music that’s used creates an atmosphere, and our emotions stem from the musical choices. In Bear 71, the music was calming and sad, which made me feel even more attached to the bear, and especially sad when it died. I wasn’t shocked by sudden musical changes or disturbed by scary music, which was nice.

The House on Loon Lake was a time travel experience for me. Huddled around my computer, I felt like I was sitting next to my radio, anxiously awaiting my stories. I appreciated it for what it did, as it gave me an experience I have never had before. Living in an age of television and internet videos, I’ve been spoiled by sight. It was nice to just sit back and listen to a story, for a change. I’ve never gotten into audiobooks, or anything of that nature, so this was a nice change of pace. It’s from this piece that I coin the phrase “Audioscape,” combining two ideas: audio and landscape. Sound creates a world, and we explore it with our minds. We close our eyes, and by using only sound, images are painted in our brains, and we go on adventures.

That is the idea that I took most out of these assignments. I’m using them as inspiration for my midterm with the use of sound, as I generated many of the provocative sounds myself, so when I present it, you can close your eyes and take the same thing out of it as your would if you were watching. I have empty title screens that I talk over, so I don’t force anyone to have one single image in their head. I’m very excited to see how well it works.

 

Lewis Darnell

~ by tiddles747 on March 17, 2013.

 
