Through the eyes of Alice

Not going to lie, but when first talking about this in class, I was really dreading this assignment. I’m not really one for starring at my computer for long periods of time. I find quick moving images and text quite nauseating, but I was wrong. I was accurate on the nausea part of it, but I actually thoroughly enjoyed the Inanimate Alice series.

I found it to be quite intrusive as well. I felt as though we were sucked into Alice’s mind and that we were looking through the eyes of her. The idea of Brad as comfort I found to be a little strange but at the same time, I think it’s fair to say that it could be her guardian angel. Or maybe even the concept of the devil on one shoulder and an angel on the other; Devil being her parents or her mind, and the angel being Brad, giving her hope and encouragement.

I have found the design of the stories to be quite unique  and invigorating. The fact that the story is told through the eyes of Alice, makes us see it as Alice in which case, had necessary interaction in order to continue on in the story.

~ by rcf19 on March 3, 2013.

3 Responses to “Through the eyes of Alice”

  1. This is exactly how I feel about this story, and what I wrote my blogpost on. This story goes very deep, and the medium of publication allows the reader to be fully immersed it. The future lies in interaction, just as our video games teach us. Stories that are games will pave the way for the future.

  2. This seems to interpret the story in terms of its symbolism and imagery. For example, the juxtaposition of the thoughts of the parents and the drawn “cartoon” being a sort of yin and yang lends a unique perspective into their roles in the story. Upon thinking about it, it actually makes a good deal of sense, because Brad does in fact bring a large amount of comfort and even problem-solving approaches (in the first episode, at least), to the main character.

    The investigation into the structure of the story itself is also interesting to me as well. I like to think that this story seems to offer a “forced perspective” in that, at least in the first episode, the reader(?) is made to sit through an adventure that in plain text could be almost boring. However, when it is presented excruciatingly slowly and alongside creepy music and images, it lends a feeling of helplessness and uncertainty to the story, throwing the reader into a “What’s going to happen next? I DON’t KNOW BUT I’M SCARED” sort of spiral. The fact that the user has to manually advance through the story is also interesting to me. Not only does it force the reader to interact with the text, but it also keeps the story “fresh”, rather than allowing words to be skipped and meanings missed by falling into complacency when reading.

  3. Your first paragraph seems to focus greatly on your immediate anticipation of the piece. It’s a humorous introduction with the intention of expressing your reactions as though allowing others the opportunity to relate or nod in agreement. You continue to express your reactions, focusing on how the piece made you feel, focusing first on this intrusiveness upon Alice’s thoughts, then on how Alice might have been feeling (hope and encouragement). In the last paragraph, there’s a brief moment in which you start to elaborate on the significance of the interactive aspects of the piece, but it seems like you were holding back. There’s this shift from your own perspective, “I,” to “us” even though your overall response to Inanimate Alice emphasized your feelings, your reactions, your sense of intrusiveness, your perceptions of the characters in relation to Alice. Your ability to relate to Alice and feel for Alice seem to be important reactions that this piece might have meant to produce.
    -Sarah

Comments are closed.

 
