The Church of Brad

It seems that no matter what Alice does, she’s always having an interesting life. Whether she’s slaying evil, falling down a hole into Wonderland, or attempting to be a normal eight to fourteen year old girl, trouble seems to find her. But, that’s what she’s created Brad. Because all Alice wants is to be a normal child with normal parents with a normal life. Alice is excited by the simplest things because well, she’s a kid. She wants to learn, she wants to meet boys, she wants to spend time with her parents, and she wants to be glued to the nearest electronic technology. Seriously though, an eight year old with a “player”?

All of this isn’t Alice’s fault though. She is after all, inanimate. However, there is something about how this work speaks that really stands out. Hidden somewhere between the white noise, static, and loud chanting, there is fun. There is the thrill of a story. Each episode works as a couple years of her life, and each takes place in a different location. Told through a mixture of short sentences and photos, Alice ends up in sticky situations. However, like the Guardian Angel watches over the Vault hunters of Pandora, Alice gets diving guidance from an animated character that she created. A “dude” named Brad. So this of course leaves the reader sitting there wondering if they too should go draw a bro on a skateboard and try to pull inspiration from it. However I think this speaks to a different point. This speaks to the point that one should trust their instincts. How this applies to Digital media is still up in the air, but I take it as a life lesson.

Very quickly I’d like to touch on Brad. This dude led me out of literally the most confusing maze I’ve ever been in. Shout-out to that guy. I tried to do the maze by myself, but ultimately ended up asking Brad for help multiple times. I think this is worth pointing out because it makes us as readers develop the same kind of reliance on Brad that Alice does in her adventures. Kudos writers, you put me in her shoes.

Let’s talk about the title, Inanimate Alice. Why would something that attempts to draw the reader in, to make them feel sympathy and anxiety for the character be labeled as “inanimate”? What is it that makes Alice truly inanimate? Maybe it is her unique ability to show no real emotions despite the fact that her story puts the reader on edge. Or maybe it is a reference to the fact that hey, this isn’t real. This is a story and you feeling anything is the point. The text certainly seems alive. It reacts to the reader’s progress and very rarely sits still, especially with all that damn white noise on every page or the startling walking dead-like music. Whatever it is, it’s going to keep me up at night.

~ by brogarn on March 3, 2013.

One Response to “The Church of Brad”

  1. This style of writing is very interesting, and it is one that I like to use a lot. You are writing this just as you would speak it. Oral literature meets the world of the blog. As I read this, I imagined it being told in you voice in my head, as if you were standing in front of the classroom reading it as a report. This is especially true in the penultimate paragraph, with the sentences “This dude led me out of literally the most confusing maze I’ve ever been in. Shout-out to that guy” really showing a very personal form of writing.

    This is an unprofessional approach to writing, and that is not a bad thing. The professional method would be “Blank is blank because blank. Next statement: further evidence. End” while the unprofessional method is “Dude, first statement. Personal thought. Sentence fragment. End.” That method is amazing for this class. We all try hard to be good students, then come here and have it all turned on our heads, learning to apply new styles of thinking and writing. This post, and especially the part that I quoted, exemplify this idea. I used to get in trouble with professors because I would write in a very laid-back, speaking-to-you manner, and I had to change if I wanted to get a good grade. Now, with the innovations in this class, we can spread our wings and fly with all our creativity. When I say it is unprofessional, I mean that you are a pioneer for this class, and a great example for all those who think that writing a very straightforward post is the best.

    A tip of my hat to you, Dylan.

Comments are closed.

 
