Hyper(active)text

The use of hypertext is a great tool in enhancing the reading experience for any reader. As we’ve read in Skins and Twelve Blue, hypertext can immerse the reader in ways not seen before the internet became a viable outlet for media. This shows us the pros and cons of introducing media to the world using the internet as the source and inspiration. Twelve Blue is a good example of how to use hypertext well. I always felt immersed while reading that, and it fixed a problem that I found with Skins: don’t abuse the hypertext. Skins was everywhere with its use of hypertext, and it was disorienting. It was cool how you could find your way back to any page through any series of links, but I got lost so many times that eventually I gave up. With Twelve Blue, however, I was able to follow the linear path while still being immersed, and I had a greater appreciation for the story.

It all comes down to the degree to which it is used. The internet is a fantastic place full of opportunities for anyone to succeed, and it opens up space for endless possibilities. The lesson I learned from these readings is this: don’t abuse that space. Just because you can do something, doesn’t mean you should.

 

Lewis Darnell

~ by tiddles747 on February 10, 2013.

 
