Skin and Fins

“I might be able to do things nobody else had even imagined. All I had to do was try everything.”

I traversed unspace and found myself. And lost myself. My body is the island lost at sea, and my mind the desperate fool swimming and drowning. I could not be the person that everyone wanted me to be. IS THIS ME. You tell me.

How about this? Am I me.

Four years ago I learned how to play guitar. I still don’t really know how to play, but I can make notes, so that’s something. I had always wanted to play guitar, and with my friend’s push, I was able to actually do it. Is this really my victory? Did I let my friends determine my path.

I won’t bore you with details. You’re only reading this because you have to. What am I but a collection of other people’s thoughts and desires wrapped up in skin that happens to have my face on it, lost at sea on a boat that doesn’t exist. The Ludovician of the world is here to swallow the memories that others implanted in me, that I am a carrier for. The world will live forever through me, in the twisting intestines of the concept shark. That is my identity: I am everyone.

Lewis Darnell

~ by tiddles747 on February 3, 2013.

 
