Never Judge a book by it’s cover

To be honest, I was very opposed to reading this book. As you’re told from the day you start reading, “Don’t judge a book by its cover,” and well, I did. Picking up this book made me dread reading it. I knew absolutely nothing about it and assumed that it had something to do with sharks… and boy was I wrong. After finally picking up the book, within the first page I was enthralled and didn’t even want to put it down.  As I continued on with the book, I felt almost as though I was in Eric’s thoughts.  Within the letters that he receives in the first couple of pages, I found it quite fascinating that he would repeat to himself only that in which he took out of the letter itself. I actually found myself relating Eric’s character to Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Although Charlie’s character writes to an anonymous friend, we still get turn after turn of events within the letters. As Eric’s case, it’s “the old” Eric writing to the current Eric, but much like Charlie, these letters/ conversations gives us as the readers, a look into the thoughts of our protagonists. I found Raw Shark Texts to keep the reader on their toes at all times. Like Eric, we become more and more curious as to what is the letters, but still hold back for safety reasons. After setting boundaries for himself, he seemed to become more content with himself.  I can’t wait to continue reading and see what happens next!

~ by rcf19 on January 13, 2013.

 
