Final Project Proposal

My idea hasn’t changed much since my last post, but here’s a more in depth proposal for what I’d like to do for my final project:

Part One: Only Revolutions Fan Fiction

I’d like to create a piece of fan fiction for Only Revolutions. I really enjoyed the fan fiction assignment we did as well as the constrained writing exercise, so I think this would be a really cool way to combine the two. I’ll compose 8 pages of text for both Sam and Hailey, staying true to all the constraints of Only Revolutions.

***As far as the technical aspect goes, I’m going to try to recreate the experience of reading the book, so I think that using text on a webpage, with hyperlinks to turn the pages would be the best way to do that.

Part Two: Videos

Here’s where the project gets “critiquey” (I know that’s not a word, but I kind of like it.) I want to make 2 different videos for the same piece of fan fiction. There’s 2 reasons why I want to do this. I’m really interested in the factors that contribute to our overall experience as a reader besides just the text itself. When I read the book, it sounded totally different in my head than when I listened to it being read on the Only Revolutions website. With digital media, specifically podcasts, the tone of voice or background music, as well as images, can have a huge effect on how you interpret a text, so I’d like to make 2 different videos to showcase that. The voice track will be the same, but I’ll play around with effects, music, and images to try and create two very different videos using the same text.

I haven’t finished writing the fan fiction yet, so I can’t say exactly the two moods that my music and effects will convey, but if I had to guess, I’d say that the viewer will get a calm feeling from one – like they’re listening to a love story, and an eerie/apocalyptic feeling from the other podcast, similar to the way it’s read on the OR website.

***The second reason I want to do this is much simpler. I had a hard time working with Premiere, but in the end, I really enjoyed using it and I’d like to work with it some more. I think this will be a good way to improve my video editing skills. I’d also like to work more with Soundbooth and possibly experiment more with voice editing for the voice track. I want this to be a visual experience and well as an auditory one, so putting together sound effects and images into one video would (hopefully) give the viewer the overall experience that I intend them to.

-Julie Howell

~ by juliehowell on April 5, 2011.

 
