Proposal for My Final Project

(Note: refer to my original post here for more information)
I still plan to create a text adventures that,perhaps not explicitly, but thematically addresses Makers by Cory Doctorow.  I have been working on it, actually, and have found a “natural language based” programmer called Inform.  Although I’ve experimented with various engines in the past (some I actually enjoy more than Inform), Inform is unique in allowing the user to upload their text adventure directly into a playable website; that is, anyone interested can play your text adventure within their browser without the need to download extraneous software.

The code is very straightforward…almost surprisingly so.  While most design systems are modeled after computer programming languages (a lot of text adventures run in Javascript or C++), Inform prides itself on utilizing full sentences and coherent thoughts to construct an adventure.

More to come, I’m sure!

-Victoria Lang

~ by victoriafrolics on April 4, 2011.

 
