The Big One

So I had a lot of trouble coming up with an idea for the final project. I knew I wanted to do it on Only Revolutions because I loved that work, but I kept thinking “how can I make a second creative-critical response to that?” So here are a few ideas I came up with and how I would execute them and whether I think they’re viable options or not:

1. I’m a musician, and it’s where I can most easily channel most of my creativity. So I was thinking of composing a piece or something along those lines for the final project. But then I realized that doesn’t really make much functional sense…it’s not really a response to anything. So I pretty much counted this idea out.

2. Wanting to stay in the music vein, I looked at the actual words of Only Revolutions, and thought about adapting them to a song because they have a rhythm, a lyrical flow to them…but then I realized that, again, this wasn’t a response to anything.

3. So I finally decided on this: I want to make a music video. I’m going to pick a song that I think sums up the book very well, and then record a music video that I think interacts with/mimics Only Revolutions. Tentatively, I want to say that song will be “Home” by Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes. It is a bit of a cheery song lyrically, but musically it is definitely a “travel song,” which fits the novel. The music also sounds, to me, a little bit melancholy. I just think it fits the feel of Only Revolutions extremely well.

The music video will contain a self-contained story of two characters, a boy and girl, trying to meet up with things continually getting in the way. Then when they finally get together, everything falls apart anyway–they struggle for contact, fail time and time again, and when they succeed it doesn’t last.

I know that’s a vague description of what I’d like to do, but a lot of my work happens organically…I come up with ideas and tweaks as I go alone. Hopefully it’s an acceptable final project…

~ by theamnesiac1 on March 29, 2011.

 
