The final stretch

What has most interested me topically in this class has been an overriding theme throughout the pieces we’ve read: the social and public aspects of web-based narrative, and how this changes issues of “ownership” and accessibility. The Internet has in many cases ruled out the middle man between authors and readers, a.k.a. publishers/editors, and this has both opened the door for more freedom and communication.

Here I’m thinking of the possibilities of things like flash fiction, uncensored web comics, and Maker’s, where reader comments actually contributed to the storyline. I’m also thinking of the narrative structures that work best on the Internet– short (or at least broken into manageable chunks) and interactive (i.e. inherently social.) In essence, I think these works have shown this semester how the Internet has democratized the creative playing field, allowing anybody to publicly publish their work and allowing anybody with access to the Internet to see it.

On the technical side, the medium I have by far felt the most comfortable with this semester (and the least pulling-my-hair-out frustrated) was audio podcasts. I’m really into public radio in general, and obsessed with This American Life specifically, so imagine my glee when I saw it was on the syllabus.

What I want to do then is combine these two interests. My challenge would be putting together my own version of This American Life based on this theme of the transformation of narrative online, preferably using an interview and a short story. I realize this will be similar in many ways to my previous podcast, except this time I won’t be spoofing TAL  so much as trying in earnest to create my own amateur version of radio storytelling. I also plan to less explicitly unpack the works that touch on these themes; rather I will use them as examples for points I’m making. Unlike the other things I’ve tried to create for this class, I want this to be comprehensible even for people who haven’t read those works.

-Kayla Hunter

~ by kah117 on March 28, 2011.

 
