Hob #14

These online, blog by the week, style comics that we were assigned to read this week were a very interesting bunch.  I had never previously heard of Dresden Codak or really taken a great interest in the mysterious world of comics.  First of all, Dresden Codak was very easy to read and quite entertaining.  Besides for the substance of story, awesome illustrations were there to follow along with the reader.  I mean, what would a comic book be without the art?

Choosing a specific story within the Dresden Codak storyline was more difficult than I had originally planned; every single comic was pretty awesome in it’s own way.  I finally narrowed my choice down to Hob # 14.  I am not exactly sure why I managed to choose this one besides for the fact that it brought me emotionally into the storyline.  I felt the sadness of the main character (kimiko) felt as if I never wanted to stop reading.  Soon enough though, I realized that I didn’t want to be reading forever and quickly came to the end of that delusion.  Each individual page from the Dresden Codak comic series has a very specific format.  Some contain more text than the rest and some contain no text at all, but whether it’s text or no text, each page has a thought out format and direction.

In this specific example, Diaz uses size, shape, and animation to show the reader how to view this comic properly.  The last row and part of the first row each contains areas of text-less animation.  Although Diaz left the text out in these parts of the story, the emotions of the characters within the comic have made up for the lack of words.  Diaz has also used the size and shape of the different boxes to help the reader figure where to spend the most time and focus.  At the end of the third to last row, Diaz uses the text box to convey the harshness is kimiko’s attitude and speaking tone – the lines making up the text box are very sharp and heavily outlined.

Billy Ricketts

HOB #14

~ by billyricketts on March 21, 2011.

 
