…Then Comes The Uplift

Before Cookbook:

[After watching a few of the videos, I think I cracked the code. The stories all have similar progressions: they’re narrated by one person, and start out with a short contextualization of the story that’s going to take place.](Both) [After that, they begin their story, and every time it has some great tragedy or sad “vehicle” by which the story is told. But all of them end in a somewhat uplifting way–a way that gives hope to the viewer. That’s what I gathered…at least, from the ones I viewed. Maybe I missed one or two that didn’t have uplifting endings.](Structure) [I also didn’t see much actual video…more like photo montages–a very interesting choice. The music also seems very carefully selected–when I watched the video about the boy who used music to escape his alcoholic family, I wondered if they used his own compositions in the background. It would make sense, the play style was definitely metal-influenced.] (Technical)

After Cookbook:

[I completely neglected to acknowledge the type of story–stories about an event or a person or a place are wholly different from one another. Stories about yourself (“Limbo”) versus stories about something outside yourself (“Home…In Past Tense,” which is a great title) are incredibly different, too.] (Both)

[I also didn’t really consider how much thought goes into a story…when you only have a couple minutes to tell your story or make your point, everything’s on the cutting-room floor.](Technical) [It’s like our podcasts: we have three minutes to tell a story or make a point. These people have a bit more leniency (I think the longest one I saw was five minutes), but that’s still a very short piece.] (Both)

– Joe DeMarini

~ by theamnesiac1 on February 15, 2011.

 
