Radio Stories: Providing an Outlet for Imagination

Originally, when we were assigned two podcasts, I was a little disheartened. I’ve listened to Podcasts before, but the problem–for me–is that they go on for too long and I get distracted. Some would run for as long as an hour and a half, and I’d just completely lose interest. But I really enjoyed these podcasts: I could see what they were talking about and I could feel what the music conveyed.

I had a different experience with House on Loon Lake, though. It was a very interesting story and the soundtrack was brilliant. There were a few segments that sounded a lot like the score for the Mass Effect video game, but I think they showed up in the first five minutes or so and then didn’t reappear. Another segment of the score that I liked was when they mentioned the burned doll, and the instruments used included a music box, which added to the general creepiness. I really liked how the story was conveyed, too. It felt like a History Channel special or something; all the “eyewitness accounts” made it feel like an alien abduction special and these were abductees. Everything about this podcast was very atmospheric–especially the scene in the junk shop, with all the rattling and clanking glass in the background. Another example of great atmosphere was when Samantha went through the box of knick-knacks and all the paper was rustling and you could hear her getting choked up.

I found the ending to be a little anti-climactic, though…the secret to the story was neglect–the children just didn’t care.

What I took away though was this: people seem more interested in other people’s histories than their own. The Narrator and his mother were fascinated with the history of the house, while the actual family they were researching had no real desire to discover their history–except for Samantha.

Now the 20 Stories in 60 Minutes was…not as interesting, unfortunately. Because it was so many stories, it was really hard to pay attention to and I found myself perusing Facebook and Tumblr while it was playing, zoning in and out. All the stories did have themes from one to the next, like Batman becoming a dog named Pastabatman becoming a story about a pet shop, but it wasn’t enough of a “flow” for me to remain interested. I did like hearing short stories that were still relatable and witty, though; it takes talent to be concise and entertaining in the vein of David Sedaris.

I was trying to figure out a way to describe these stories, and I decided to call them “dinner stories.” Why? Because they’re short little anecdotes, like something you’d tell friends & family at a party or dinner.

But the best “story” was definitely was from Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind. That was such a cool, funny little skit. It sounded like a pick-up attempt to me, but hey, it could’ve just been a regular conversation.

– Joe DeMarini

~ by theamnesiac1 on February 1, 2011.

 
