TAL Podcasts

The podcasts that we had to listen to this week seemed to be quite long and looked like they would be quite a drag to sit down and listen to, but this thought stemmed simply from the fact that each one was an hour long.  I tried to remember if I had ever listened to a podcast before listening to the ones we had been assigned and it came to me that the only podcasts I had ever heard were simply musical performances, mainly electronic artists.  Time for something new in my life.  Before listening to the two podcasts that we had been assigned, I thought about what it meant for something to be a podcast.  These podcasts stemmed from radio talk shows that had to be listened to at the airing date and time without rewinding and pausing of the sort.  Now the listener had the advantage that had previously been missing;  podcasts allowed for the listener to fit whatever it was into into his or her daily schedule instead of being forced to listen to the show at a certain time.

The House on Loon Lake was the first piece that I listened to and I was surprised to hear how musical the podcast actually ended up being.  The music seemed to be thought out very precisely and went along with the story in every aspect.  I was able to listen to this whole podcast with my eyes closed which made the story seem much more real; allowing my imagination to take ahold of me.  The other podcast, 20 acts in 60 minutes, was not as easy to listen to on the other hand.  I often found myself surfing the web while trying to listen to the full 20 acts or pausing it and coming back at a later time.  I was very excited that the podcasts had music to go along with all of the different feelings that the listeners felt.  In happy parts of the story, happy music was there, and in suspenseful parts, there was suspenseful music!  This made both of the podcasts much more interactive; giving listeners a certain mood based upon background music that affects the listener on a subconscious level.

This brought me back to the idea of what I had said in our previous class about interactivity.  These podcasts were not as interactive as what we had been viewing in the past few weeks but seemed to be on a different level of online interaction.  It was unlike what we had previously read in this class and unique in its own way.  The podcasts seemed to be more like a traditional text in the sense that the listener can make up his or her own images to go along with the podcast and this leaves room for a lot of imagination as opposed to another online article with images to go along.  These podcasts, however, had narrators that made the story’s much more interactive than a book could ever be.  They sounded out the exact tone and enunciation of each word leaving the listener knowing and feeling what the narrator also felt in a sense.  The background music was very reflective of the story(s) being told and made a nice layer of sound that made the 57 minute long podcasts seem much shorter than I had expected.

-Billy Ricketts-

~ by billyricketts on January 31, 2011.

 
